3227 Posts in 2346 Topics by 11870 Members
Latest Member: Olakunle 
Naija Updates: Hot Topics

Author Topic: Drama as 3-term House of Reps member wins PDP ticket for 4th term in Sokoto  (Read 2518 times)

Offline ukbenstar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • View Profile
Three-time House of Representative member, Isa Bashir-Kalanjeni, has picked the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) ticket to contest for Tangaza/Gudu federal constituency in Sokoto state in 2019 election.

Bashir-Kalanjeni, who was the sole aspirant, was declared unopposed on Thursday, October 4, by the returning officer, Malam Usman Yabo, after delegates’ affirmation, the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

Yabo, in his statement, said 207 party delegates affirmed Bashir-Kalanjeni’s candidacy as required by law and commended party faithful for the successful conduct of the exercise.

He described the exercise as “hitch-free,” noting that the conduct of delegates and party supporters was a demonstration that the party is coasting to victory in the 2019 general elections. In his remarks, Bashir-Kalanjeni commended delegates and other party loyalists for their support, pledging to deliver more dividends of democracy to his constituents in health, education, empowerment and other sectors. Bashir-Kalanjeni said the party's challenges were milder in recognition of the achievements of Governor Aminu Tambuwal, which had transformed the state.

The former member of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Isah Ashiru, was elected as the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Kaduna State. The chairman of the PDP governorship primary election committee in the state, Phillip Aivoji, on Monday, October 1, in Kaduna declared Ashiru winner of the election with 1,330 votes. He defeated three other contestants including former governor of the state, Mukhtar Ramalan-Yero, who had 36 votes. A serving Senator, Suleiman Hunkuyi, scored 564 votes to lose the ticket to Isah Ashiru.



SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal